All data is imported by its internal ID code, never by its description.
Automatic de-duplication of objects is done after the source database is imported.
The effects of some de-duplication may not be seen until later. For example, if two skills are combined together and a report references the skill which has been removed, when that report is loaded VSys will re-map the skill to the skill which was retained.
Certain options in the source database are always ignored in favor of the ones in the current database:
VSys Live sites and settings
VSys Web settings
VSys Kiosk settings
Most system settings
Security default user rights.
Objects with the same internal ID codes are ignored. For example, importing the same database twice will not result in its people or their attributes being duplicated.
Deleted objects will be re-imported. For example, if you've previously imported a database and brought in its people, then deleted some people and the addresses of other people from your current database, re-importing that database will bring back in the things you deleted in your current database if they still exist in the source database.
Certification definitions (incoming certification definitions with the same codes as existing ones) are never overwritten.
An incoming person with a security user ID matching an existing person will have no security rights.
Conflicting import reference IDs, VSys Live/VSys Web login IDs, kiosk PINs, and kiosk swipe/scan values will be erased from the incoming database.
Some imported options can be prefixed, with some additional text that you can use to identify where that option came from:
Jobs and job groups
Locations (top-level and children)
Skills, job preferences, restrictions, special needs, etc.
After running the database merge tool, when you leave the tool VSys will close down. Because of the data that was imported, it will require a restart.
The next time you open VSys, if you're not merging in another database, it's important to run the Index update tool.